Overwhelmed with information=nothing to eat - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 19 Old 08-24-2010, 04:08 PM - Thread Starter
WCM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
My background is in nutrition and nursing/natural healing. before kids I ate well. When my kids were little they ate well. Now the combination of my own health slump (tired always, headaches) and the kids desire, now that their tastes have changed with maturity, to eat mainly craxkers, bagels and pasta and fruit, has made me read far too much about health.

I've gone from feeding them what I felt was a balanced diet (Protein, veg, fruit, grains, all home made, organic, grass-fed bef, etc) to feeling like I need to reinvent the wheel to feed them as healthfuly as possible. That sugar is the root of all evil, that grains cause cancer and flour/rice/starches are poison.

It's been weeks of no bread, low fruit, etc . . . and it feels wrong, for lack of a better description. It felt good to bake for them, to teach them how to bake, to create colourful meals that they liked. Now I'm forcing veggies and fish with no starches, and only porridge for breakfast, no pancakes. The pancakes I made before were healthy!!!

I've read so many books on nutrition this past year, from Nourishing traditions to paleo diets to raw foods and juicing.

Has this happened to you are did you just decide to discount what you knew/learned? I mean, I've always known sugar was crap but it makes some things tasty. We're talking homemade coookies not hubba bubba gum here.

I think I want balance, not uber-stictness. I can mill my own grains (no sprout/ferment them) if I could just stop thinking of them as poison.

thanks.

Passionate posts = oodles of typos
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 19 Old 08-24-2010, 04:11 PM

I cannot imagine why one would think of carbs as poison unless they are on the atkins diet which is extremely unhealthy.