Help please, conventional or organic nuts? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 19 Old 01-05-2011, 12:56 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)

Are there any good links for a shopping guide of pesticides on all foods? Not just produce? I would love to go 100% organic but we can barely afford all the organics I buy now. I try to purchase the "dirtiest" organically as well as non-gmo.

help.gifI am confused. I just read about high pesticide absorbtion in nuts and peanuts because of their high oil content. I have just begun to research. How important is it to consume organic nuts? I read another article that says both conventional and organic nut production uses pesticides (just different ones) and that there is not enough of a difference to make purchasing organicaly important. nut.gifCan anyone lead me in the right diection for info? I am not good at understanding all the scientific facts.

I have been giving my family almonds, walnuts, sunflower seeds and homemade peanut butter. None of them have been organic. duh.gif  It makes me sick to think how contaminated they may be. Nuts are expensive enough. Does anyone have any good sources to save money on organic nuts, seeds and legumes?  My son loves nuts so I feel that it might be best to go organic if we can afford it. Nuts make a great snack to keep with us on the go. Any ideas for alternatives to cut back on the nuts?

partners.gif Wife to mysuperhero.gif             
hang.gif Mommy to thehomebirth.jpg miracle of our love lovestory.gif  our sweet dog2.gif andchicken3.gif

#2 of 19 Old 01-06-2011, 05:53 PM

Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I don't really have an answer on the pesticides etc but I will say that nuts fall into the same category as bannas to me.they have thick hard outer shell that doesn't come into contact with the food inside if you are careful and I really think eating organic other places is more worth the money...just my opinion.