making real food from scratch - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 15 Old 07-28-2011, 05:52 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

What do you make in bulk from scratch?  How well do they keep?  Is it worth it, money wise?

I'm thinking of cleaning out some of the garage and getting a chest freezer...  I'm wondering if its feasible to do something like this...

(I'm thinking pasta sauce from real tomatoes, pickles, jelly...  lots of soups... )

I'm pregnant with #4, due in dec... so its half for future convenience, half for avoiding all the ickies in this stuff if you buy it...  (and i'd love to start a tradition of sauce day, etc... where we all pitch in and make LOTS of something)

Also, how do you package it so it stays fresh, doesnt have icky stuff, but doesnt break the bank when starting out either...

Thanks!!  (I've never done stuff like this before... but I'd love to start!)

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 15 Old 07-28-2011, 06:23 AM

I swear by my vacu-sealer.  It pays for itself quickly and is not only good for homemade food but for breaking apart bulk purchases into more manageable sizes. 

I dedicate 2 Sundays a month as stock the freezer days but make a point of never cooking just one of anything.

Things I always make in bulk to freeze:

• pizza dough
  • bread/roll dough
  • assorted stocks-chicken, beef, fish
  • tomato sauce
  • lots of soup
  • meatballs
  • assorted casseroles ie: lasagna and other pasta based dishes, meatloaf, potpies
  • pancakes/waffles- just pop in toaster for a quick easy breakfast

I also use my vacu-sealer for freezing in season fruits and veggies. I have a small garden but mostly get from a farm share.

I do some canning but honestly I hate it so I don't do as much as I should/could.  I mostly do tomatos and pickles.

Pardon me while I puke.gif

#3 of 15 Old 07-28-2011, 07:35 AM

Muffins

Waffles

Pancakes

Stock

Sauces-spaghetti, tomato, pizza

Soups