Sugar-free snacks to serve guests? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 5 Old 09-27-2011, 11:18 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)

Soooo, I've finally, grudgingly, taken the plunge to go sugar-free for a month and see if it helps my litany of woes (currently: slow postpartum weight loss, psoriasis, general fatigue and occasional bouts of crippling depression). Plus, it just seems like the thing to do, and SIL keeps nagging me about it. :p

The thing is, I bake for at least two events a week - choir practice and Bible study. I don't have to provide food for either occasion, but I usually do. And I'm a good cook, if I do say so meself; and people look forward to my cakes and muffins and what-have-you. I could make them and just not eat them, but I don't want the temptation.

So, what could I make? I'm on a budget here, so buying crackers and fancy cheese isn't really an option, and I'd rather not do chips. Homemade stuff would be better. So far I've thought of:

-Cheese straws

-Cheese puffs (I have a recipe for these little savoury profiterole things - quite tasty)

-Veggies and dip - either hummus or a yoghurty one

-Homemade pita chips and dip

-Popcorn (too messy for Bible study, but OK for choir)

Aaaand that's about all I can think of. Devilled eggs seems too "food-y". Pesto's expensive (I do grow basil, but not right now). Sausage rolls or chipolatas... meh. For Bible study, it'd be better if it was a snack people could take and eat, not something that invited constant dipping or taking (like popcorn or veggies and dip) - just because of the seating arrangements, and potential mess.

Any ideas?

If decomposition persists please see your necromancer.

#2 of 5 Old 09-28-2011, 06:09 AM

Quoted: 2 Post(s)

Kale chips - you could put them in paper muffin cups to serve, so people could carry them away to their seats

Spanokopita - easy to make if you buy phyllo pastry (I'm not sure about the sugar in the pastry though)