White Whole Wheat Flour? - Mothering Forums
Nutrition and Good Eating > White Whole Wheat Flour?
SollysMom's Avatar SollysMom 10:17 AM 01-24-2012

I've never tried White Whole Wheat flour before, but I was comparing the nutrition info/ingredients list with regular WW flour today at the store and they were identical.  I still went with regular whole wheat because I assume the white WW must be processed more?  What's the general concensus on white whole wheat flour?  TIA for any replies :-)

TiredX2's Avatar TiredX2 10:38 AM 01-24-2012

From what I understand, white whole wheat flour is simply made from a different type of wheat grain.  I thought I had originally heard that the grain originated in Australia, but I don't find that information now.

Here is a simple explanation:

http://bakingbites.com/2010/10/what-is-white-whole-wheat-flour/

Quote:

White whole wheat flour is made from a naturally occurring albino variety of wheat, so it has a whitish outer bran (hence the name, white whole wheat) to it where regular wheat has a darker brown or reddish bran. This bran usually contains tannins and phenolic acid, which are what give whole wheat flour the slightly bitter taste that is often associated it, but white whole wheat contains none. As a result, it has a mild, sweet and slightly nutty flavor without a trace of bitterness and is much more similar in flavor and color to all purpose flour than to traditional whole wheat flour.

White whole wheat still has all the same nutritional benefits of whole wheat flour because it is made in exactly the same way, and so it has more fiber, vitamins and minerals than most all purpose flours to. It can be used in any recipe that calls for whole wheat flour and, because it has a lighter flavor, will generally give you an even tastier result than whole wheat will.

mommy212's Avatar mommy212 03:39 PM 01-24-2012