questions on fermentation - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 22 Old 02-22-2012, 11:18 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Im new to fermentation. Can someone help? does the material of the.container matter? Glass vs plastic vs ceramic vs opaque and clear? How's the smell? I was reading the wild fermentation website and seems.pretty smelly being so open. Can I use a maason jar or regular jar or one of.those plastic or.glass containers with the latch on it and just cover cabbage, or whatever, with brine or is it better to just use salt.and let the water come out of.the cabbage itself. Thaanks. Looki forward to adventures in fementation!

h20homebirth.gif    femalesling.GIF-     familybed2.gif   -Yep... thats me redface.gif

#2 of 22 Old 02-23-2012, 08:16 AM

Yes, container matters, somewhat.  You don't want to use metal because the salt content will eat it.  You don't want to use plastic if you ever want to use it for something else, since getting the smell out may be difficult (or it may not, depends on many factors).  I don't believe opaque vs transparent makes a difference though.  I just use mason jars. 

The smell is about like bread rising, unless you catch something nasty, which has happened to me a couple times.  If it smells bad, I'd dump it. 

As for the salt vs brine thing - something that contains sufficient water like cabbage does not need added water, in fact adding water can cause the salt to be too diluted, leading to bad bacterial growth.  You can add brine if you're not getting enough liquid to cover, but not straight water.  I've only had to add brine to carrots... cabbage, cucumber and daikon all provide plenty of their own water once salted and allowed to sit.