Starting New Kitchen/Pantry - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 10 Old 03-07-2012, 11:07 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

We have been living with my in-laws for almost 3 years now... and soon will be moving to our own place. I'm looking for tips/ideas about stocking a new pantry... I am Celiac and would like to totally outlaw gluten (DH is ok with that except for his beer, DD is too little/eats my gluten free stuff too). I also want to try to go totally without refined sugar. I am interested in TF and organic, but I'm a newbie in those areas. I guess I am looking for tips about what staples to try to get organic, what isn't as necessary, what oils/sweetners/basics, what things you would avoid... also any tips about containers/storage? Go all glass? 

If you could start a new pantry (on a normal budget, not *dream* pantry), what would you do?

I really want to take this opportunity to better our diet... I find living here and not always being able to control what is around and what is being cooked... well sometimes things you didn't intend to eat get eaten!

#2 of 10 Old 03-07-2012, 03:45 PM

I would go with as much glass as possible.  That might just mean a few cases of mason jars and some one-piece lids.  Probably the cheapest option.  Mason jars are a great tool to have around the house, for everything from dry goods storage to fermenting, to storing leftovers. 

As a celiac, you probably need to avoid bulk bins, for anyone else that would be a prime money-saving technique though. 

A visit to a store with a large bulk selection though might not be a bad idea - a fact-finding mission, so to speak.  Make a list of the foods you use.  This is the main place where people run into trouble - stocking up on foods they don't actually use.  If you cook mostly navy beans, but buy 4 or 5 different kinds of beans to "stock up", then most of them are going to get too old before you wind up using them.