Examining the Link Between Nutrition and Vaccine Outcomes - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 4 Old 05-29-2012, 12:55 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Examining the Link Between Nutrition and Vaccine Outcomes: One mother tells her story

Motherhood has transformed my life.  When I found out I was pregnant with my son I was excited; excited to hold him, love him and watch him grow. I thought I knew what to expect.  I was wrong.  No matter what I planned or expected, nothing could have readied me for this.

photo7.jpg

As a naturopathic doctor I knew the importance of breastfeeding for the healthy development of my child and even had an article published in a peer-reviewed journal about the benefits of breastfeeding on the developing immune system.  I was committed to nursing for my son’s health.  I wasn’t exactly excited about it, though. The thought of having someone so close in my very personal space sounded kind of unpleasant.  Likewise, I supported the idea of co-sleeping, but getting a good night sleep was hard even before my son was born. We got a basinet.

After a wonderfully hard water birth at home we set our son in our bed and started breastfeeding - and he has never left.  The joy I feel when he reaches out at night, still sleeping, looking for the mama that he knows he’ll find with his chubby little baby fingers wasn’t something I could have planned.  I didn’t expect to actually look forward to his nighttime nursing while he buried his sweet toes in my belly.  I never dreamed that after two and a half years I would still treasure the ability to comfort and nourish my little one and cherish his nighttime snuggles as he still buries his slightly bigger but still sweet toes in my belly.  I didn’t expect to love those things but I do.