Can we talk about "Paleo" - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 9 Old 01-18-2013, 09:19 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Ya know, "Caveman Diet"

Have any of you tried and seen positive results? 

It has been referenced everywhere, and I am beginning to hear firsthand accounts of people curing their ailments. 

What are your opinions about it? Do you think there are pitfalls?  (Like no oatmeal for breakfast!!!! greensad.gif)

And if you do follow paleo guidelines, how do you make it kid friendly? 

#2 of 9 Old 01-18-2013, 10:17 AM

Quoted: 1 Post(s)

I have heard the same and can't wait to hear responses from those who are doing it. DH and I would like to try this.

Newly married 10/2013 to DH superhero.gifSAHM to DD 2007  dust.gif and DS 2010  bouncy.gif  homeschool.gifselectivevax.gifdelayedvax.gifnocirc.gifhamster.jpg
#3 of 9 Old 01-21-2013, 10:46 PM

I have some experience but I still did eat dairy.  I started with this about 1.5 years ago, but switched back to a very relaxed diet after I lost more weight than I even wanted to!  (I was not trying to lose weight and was down under 125 at 5'8" which was too low for me--and swimming in anything bigger than a size four pants.)  My energy stabilized and some persistent joint pain I had disappeared. 

I do not consider it a miracle diet or anything but it really made me think a lot about nutrition assumptions.  I am pretty happy continuing with my high fat and animal foods diet, and feel worse when I deviate much.

I am still about halfway primal, very low sugar and very low grain, happily carnivorous, lots of eggs...  I feel like it is great for me but not for my kids.  I am the only one in my family avoiding wheat and much grains.  I found it tiring to encourage my kids to eat this way and a little rough trying to shop for a crew with the limited choices and the costs.