Mothering Forums

Mothering Forums (http://www.mothering.com/forum/)
-   Nutrition and Good Eating (http://www.mothering.com/forum/267-nutrition-good-eating/)
-   -   Do you can? What? Recipes to share? (http://www.mothering.com/forum/267-nutrition-good-eating/1385473-do-you-can-what-recipes-share.html)

Momsteader 06-22-2013 11:09 AM

I'm a total newbie canner. I have the jars. I have the lids. (I got those neat reusable ones from Tattler.) I've done a few very basic jams. I need to do more though! Any experts here?

Do you can food? From your own garden or do you acquire it some other way? What things are your favorite to can? Do you have good recipes to share? Or a good resource for finding safe recipes for canning? 

kitchensqueen 06-23-2013 07:55 PM

I won't call myself an expert but I've been canning for years by the book and I've done a variety of things. 

One of the most important things to remember is you can only do high-acid food in a water bath canner (jams, jellies, tomatoes with additional acid added, and pickles). Everything else (vegetables, meats, prepared foods) has to be done in a pressure canner. You cannot can dairy at all (no matter what it says on the internet). 

The two safest and best resources for home canners are Ball (get yourself a copy of the Ball Blue Book - it's the bible of canning) and the National Center for Home Preservation