New Traditional Foods (NT) Thread - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 04-27-2004, 02:01 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Here we go!

As Yitlan said, it might be a good idea to keep a recipe thread going in 'Nutrition...'; but in addition to the philosophy tribal thing going here, I'd still like to feel free to post food 'ideas' here... So many of the things we've discussed are not recipes per se, but 'hey, my catsup- does it need to go longer?', 'my bread is a rock!', 'the pickle recipe is too salty!' etc. We do a lot of experimenting in this tribe! It might clutter up an actual 'here- cook this:' recipe thread if we load it up every time we have an issue. Just my thoughts-if y'all want to do it differently, no biggie- I'm a newbie here.

Anyway, let's rock & roll so Abi can archive our old long thread!

Suse
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-27-2004, 07:36 PM

Okay, I'm here too! I just made several batches of the "Healthy Yeasted Bread" on the WAP website and its really fabulous. Maybe our gluten-free folks could sub sorghum/millet or something similar...but the long fermentation and the 7 hours of rising really does seem to do something "magical" for the bread. Its not quite "sour" enough tasting for me to consider it sourdough, though. I'm still anxiously awaiting my Carl's sourdough starter in the mail. When I made the bread, I tried a trick some of the sourdough afficienadoes had recommended........put a pan of water in the oven when you preheat....then mist the oven for the first couple minutes the bread is in. It seems to give a nice flaky, crispy crust. Sorry to hear about your bread faux pas's Suse & Rebekah Keep on keepin' on.....I'm sure with a little tweaking, they'll be fine.... Rebekah.....the bitter taste....could your flour have been old or rancid?? I'm rackin' my brain.....(short process, lol)

Lisa
Old 04-27-2004, 08:20 PM