Bakers, why was my pie crust hard as a rock? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 09-01-2004, 10:23 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hi. I'm new at baking, so if you're experienced, please give me some advice! I tried to make the spanakopita from Laurel's Kitchen last night and the crust was hard as a rock. We ended up scraping out the filling. What might have gone wrong? Too much flour? Too long baking? Too little butter? Might I have failed to roll the dough out thinly enough?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-01-2004, 11:11 PM

Too much working the dough, or not enough layers worked in?

Homebirth Midwife biggrinbounce.gif

After 4 m/c, our stillheart.gif is here!

Old 09-01-2004, 11:29 PM - Thread Starter

Thanks for responding, Apricot. Actually, this recipe doesn't call for any layers..it's more like a traditional pie crust. Just flour, salt, and water, with melted butter drizzled on it. I may very well have worked the dough too much.
Old 09-01-2004, 11:30 PM

Quoted: 21 Post(s)
What kind of flour did you use? The Laurel's Kitchen authors typically call for whole wheat (I can't find my copy right now so I can't check out the recipe you mention). If you used bread flour instead of ww pastry flour, that could be a problem.

What did you use for shortening? I like the Earth's Balance shortening (non-hydrogenated, no transfats). The best pie crusts are made with saturated fat, and it has to be worked in really cold.

Though spanikopita is typically made with phyllo dough, which I think most people don't make at home, but buy. You can buy ww phyllo dough now! I learned to work with phyllo before I had the guts to make pie crusts.

Divorced mom of one awesome boy born 2-3-2003.
Old 09-01-2004, 11:32 PM

I cross posted with you.

Flour and water with melted butter on it? That doesn't make any sense.

I have to go find my cookbook.

Old 09-01-2004, 11:34 PM - Thread Starter