bread making question - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
#1 of 10 Old 05-12-2005, 11:31 PM - Thread Starter
 
coopnwhitsmommy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Underneath the staircase
Posts: 2,256
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I just got a bread maker at a yard sale and want to make some wholewheat bread. Every recipe I'm finding has either honey or mollasses in it...and I don't have either. I do have Maple syrup and Dark Karo syrup though...can those be used instead?
coopnwhitsmommy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 of 10 Old 05-13-2005, 12:23 AM
 
Changed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 7,146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
NO. NEVER ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever




EVER, mess with the directions or ingredients on a bread machine recipe. Instead look for a recipe that calls for what you'd rather use. Substituting will only end in disaster. Trust me. I've done this many times knowing full well what would happend but wanting to try anyway. It always ruins the bread.

I love honey wheat bread!
Changed is offline  
#3 of 10 Old 05-13-2005, 01:36 AM
 
Celtain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Looking forward to the future
Posts: 1,738
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
:

She knows what she is talking about. Same thing has happened to me. If it calls for 1/2 a cup of water plus 1 teaspoon of water you better put that one teaspoon in or you will regret it!!!

Solo Mum to 4 and loving every minute of it!!!!
Celtain is offline  
#4 of 10 Old 05-13-2005, 01:44 AM
 
QueenOfTheMeadow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: with the wildlife
Posts: 17,836
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
I know you can substitute with hand made bread, but the only experience I've had with a bread maker wasn't a very happy one! Suffice it to say, there was fire involved :LOL . So I'd have to agree with everyone else, don't substitute!!

 
QueenOfTheMeadow is offline  
#5 of 10 Old 05-13-2005, 02:27 AM - Thread Starter
 
coopnwhitsmommy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Underneath the staircase
Posts: 2,256
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Darn guess I'm going to the store to get some honey....I did find one maple syrup recipe might try that tomorrow
coopnwhitsmommy is offline  
#6 of 10 Old 05-13-2005, 02:41 AM
 
alegna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 42,826
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I always substitute with my bread maker. I'd say go for it. The only issues I ever had was making batches too big for the machine (boy, that was a mess....)

-Angela
alegna is offline  
#7 of 10 Old 05-13-2005, 02:50 AM
 
darkpear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,233
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Try this:

http://www.breadmachinedigest.com/cr...e-a-bread.html

It's a free program for creating your own bread machine recipes, lets you plug in the ingredients you want to use and the size loaf.
darkpear is offline  
#8 of 10 Old 05-13-2005, 09:25 PM
 
.:Becca:.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Oregon
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I always subsituted with my bread maker too and it turned out fine. I always read that you can use any recipe that only makes 1 loaf in a bread maker.

Go to www.bobsredmill.com They have some whole wheat bread recipes that you can do in a bread machine. Also, I ALWAYS use vital wheat gluten in my bread (100% ww). It makes the bread softer and yummier
.:Becca:. is offline  
#9 of 10 Old 05-14-2005, 12:33 AM
 
Poddi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 1,911
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
I substitute ingredients a lot. The thing is I don't bake in the bread machine any more, only use it to mix the dough. So I have a lot of control on the final product. The only time I changed recipe and baked inside the breadmaker it rose too high and bumped the lid open. I ended up with a loaf with some dough on top.

Mom to 2 beautiful autistic boys (12 & 11)  
Poddi is offline  
#10 of 10 Old 05-14-2005, 12:35 AM
 
Changed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 7,146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I think it depends on the machine. Some are better than others. I have the breadman pro. It's the stainless steel looking one. It is far better than the one my mom has. Can't remember what hers is though. My machine bakes excellent. I adore it.


FWIW, I also add vital wheat gluten to every loaf because I don't use bread flour.
Changed is offline  
Reply

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off