Forum Jump: 

#1 of 7 Old 11-20-2002, 09:17 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Anybody have one?

Do you like to use it?

Do you think it's a wise investment?

Can you use any bread recipe with it or do you have to use recipes specially designed for bread machines?

Any brand recommendations or features to look for when picking one out?

Any thoughts/opinions/anecdotes would be much appreciated!!
#2 of 7 Old 11-21-2002, 10:16 PM

I am no bread maker. I have a Toast Master Bread Box Bread Maker, and it is pretty easy to use. We bought a book called Bread Lovers Bread Machine Cookbook, and it has tons of fun recipes, and doughs, and stuff. I assume if you know what you are doing you can adapt regular bread recipes to the bread machine. Some turn out really good, some turn out so so. I want a bread stone so I can make artisinal bread doughs in the machine and bake them in the oven - baguettes and such. I go through periods where I will use it all the time, then don't for months.
#3 of 7 Old 11-22-2002, 02:56 AM

I love my breadmaker- I couldn't make bread without it! I go through phases of using it and not using it, like Owensmom, but I love it when I do use it. Actually I was planning on making some pumpkin bread tomorrow from a recipe I found online- there are a load out there. I would say if you like bread, and don't like buying the stuff they sell in the grocery stores that has a ton of preservatives in it, it is a great investment.
#4 of 7 Old 11-24-2002, 09:55 AM

(drops down on knees and bows in worship to a small, white rectangular appliance, attop a flower-strewn countertop altar, right next to the Holy Coffee Maker)

all hail the mighty bread machine! praise the mighty bread machine! blessed be the mighty bread machine!