Tofu Questions - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 6 Old 01-05-2003, 07:42 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I'm new to this whole chunk-of-soy thing (and desperately missing dairy and eggs). I'm looking for substitutes. Can anyone tell me how long tofu keeps once you open the package, and how I should store it? Also, I had some not-too-awful tofu ice cream. (It tasted good, actually, but had a kind of soybeany aftertaste-- yuck.) This made me wonder whether it's possible to make a kind of cream sauce for pasta or chicken or whatever using tofu rather than cream. Does anyone have a recipe for something like that? Does it taste good? Any other ideas?

In better news, my daughter just loves tofu.
#2 of 6 Old 01-05-2003, 10:27 PM

I wish you joy and wonder on your path to tofu enlightenment! LOL!

Let's see, tofu ideas...
Well, as far as the cream sauce thing goes, one can make a "cream" sauce with almost any other liquid substitution. You could try soymilk instead of cream, but be forwarned that it WILL NOT be the same (I like it though). I know alot of people use non-dairy creamer, but that is just a bunch of chemicals so I wouldn't go that route.

I like tofu sour cream my self. There is a brand of tofu sour cream out there (Tofutti brand, or "Better than Sour Cream" or something like that), but it has alot of hydrogenated oils, so I prefer to just put soft tofu in the food processor, add a few bits of onions, soy sauce or ume plum vineger, or really whatever you like. Again, doesn't taste like the real thing, but I love it, and it's much healthier, and has veggie protien and calcium. It's good with burritios, chips, over beans or lentils, and all alone!

Stirfries and stews are also good with chunks of tofu in place of meat.