There's flour and then there's flour, can someone help me with the difference - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 15 Old 02-04-2003, 05:25 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hi there

What's the difference between WW bread flour and WW pastry flour?

I've been having trouble making WW breads in my breadmachine (and sometimes by hand) and many of the recipes just say to use WW flour (don't say whether it should be bread or pastry). I normally use bread flour, but am wondering if overrise and fall is part of my problem. Any ideas on this?

I've got a huge sack of WW bread flour in the freezer and I need to start using it up LOL

Thanks
Angie

Angie, Mama to Finn (6/01) and Theo (4/05)
#2 of 15 Old 02-04-2003, 05:38 PM

Let me start out by saying that I am not a bread expert, but here's what I know.

Pastry flour has had the gluten removed/reduced, so that cakes and muffins will have a more tender crumb. Gluten is necessary to proper bread development; it's the "elastic" that you're working up and developing when you knead bread, that in turn will create structure in the bread for those air holes (that result when the yeast grow and die). So you do not want to use pastry flour for regular bread.

Whole wheat flour is great, but it can make a very heavy bread. A lot of bread recipes don't do well when they call for all-purpose white flour and you substitute in whole wheat flour, because you'll end up with bread that's overly heavy and tough. Start out with a half and half mixture and see how that works for you.