Can you make yogurt with rice milk? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 7 Old 04-04-2006, 03:38 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Ok, all you yogurt and kefir makers, does yogurt work using rice or oat milk? And, is there a starter you can use that is non-dairy and non-soy?

Clearly I am a total newbie at yogurt-making. I used to make my own yogurt pre-kids but it was dairy and I had a yogurt maker. Have never done it without a yogurt maker, and we are now on diet restrictions, and I am missing my yogurt!!

Thanks!
#2 of 7 Old 04-04-2006, 06:41 PM

I don't think you can. I did a search on www.dogpile.com, and found some people saying it didn't work, and one person theorized that it could possibly be dangerous. I guess there is certain bacteria on rice, that thrive at yogurt-making temps.
But you can make it with almond milk, I'm pretty sure. I think you may have to add a bit of honey, for the yogurt cultures to eat. I'm going to try it tomorrow- I'm soaking my almonds to make milk today.

hth

Becky, partner to Teague, SAHM to Keagan (7yo), Jonah (2yo)

#3 of 7 Old 04-04-2006, 09:00 PM

i dont think rice milk has enough protein or fat in it. i have tried with almond milk, and i havent had luck. i've made cathe's cashew yogurt and that was incredible, but that is with ground nuts, not milk. maybe ground almonds would work too?

Mom to two perfect kids earth.gif  surrogate to two sweetpotatos heartbeat.gifheartbeat.gif born 4.21.11  

I love someone with ataxia telangiectasia http://www.atcp.org

#4 of 7 Old 04-05-2006, 03:41 PM - Thread Starter

Thanks for the info. Well, that's disappointing that rice milk won't work. I was hoping for a nut-free option as well as soy and dairy free! I did see the cashew yogurt recipe in cathe's book, and almonds sounds good, too.

I saw there was no starter needed for the cashew yogurt- do the nuts already have the necessary bacteria in them?
#5 of 7 Old 04-05-2006, 07:44 PM