no cast iron on glass cooktop? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 11 Old 08-19-2006, 03:47 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
so, my only cast iron pan, a round griddle i got awhile back, is finally seasoned and i have been happily using it to cook eggs for DD1 and i because it is awesome. i have switched to stainless and my eggs stick sometimes, but not on my cast iron.

anyway, i was reading about cast iron, was going to buy a cast iron fry pan, and saw that you aren't supposed to use cast iron on glass cooktop because it can ruin the glass cooktop? i certainly don't want to break my stove, but i love my pan now.

i always cook on low heat, think i should be okay? i love the glass cooktop stove that came with our house, so easy to clean up and heats fast, etc, and i don't want to ruin it.
#2 of 11 Old 08-19-2006, 06:30 PM

Quoted: 2 Post(s)
I'm no expert, but it seems to me that the problem would be with scratching, chipping or cracking the surface of the stove. Those cast iron skillets can weigh a ton and be a little unwieldly. You'd have to be vigilant about not dragging the pan or setting it down too hard. The stove top is made of something like Corell or Pyrex, right?

If that's what the issue is, than it just seems as though all you have to do is be extra careful when you're using the pan, and it won't be a problem.

Disclaimer: I'm not the manufacturer and haven't used a class cook top since I was a kid! I'm making an educated guess. You'd do well to visit the manufacturer's web site.

Someone moved my effing cheese.
#3 of 11 Old 08-19-2006, 08:15 PM

I use my mamoth cast iron pan on our ceramic cook-top....we're renting though, so it's not really MY cooktop...so far so good.

Laurie, wife to guitar.gifDH (Aug/04), mom tobikenew.gifDS1 (Nov/05) and bfinfant.gifDS2 (June/12).

#4 of 11 Old 08-19-2006, 11:53 PM