avacado questions - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 20 Old 03-31-2003, 05:45 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
So, as I venture into solid foods for 6mth dd and into the world of making baby food, what is an avacado? Fruit or veggie? Do you cook it first and how? I have read how great this food item is for beginning solids but I'm lost after that!
Help!
Thanking you ladies in advance,
Laura (who doesnt know her avacados from her a**)
#2 of 20 Old 03-31-2003, 06:06 PM

I'm no expert but I think avocados are fruit...they grow on trees...and I always eat mine raw and my dd likes them raw also...shes been eating them since she was a baby.
#3 of 20 Old 03-31-2003, 06:40 PM

Avocados are EXCELLENT baby food! They are a fruit. And they are the highest calorie fruit. They are very nutrient dense. They are also good for *ahem* regularity.

Do not cook the avocado. Just find a nice ripe one (skin should yield to pressure when you poke it). You can mash it up and spoon feed it, or if it is good and ripe, you can just cut up chunks and feed to baby in chunks.

My baby LOVES avocado. Don't know what we would do without it!! Fortunately we live in Costa Rica, so we get really good fresh avocados everywhere, often it's the only thing I can order for her in a restaurant here!

HTH,
Judi
#4 of 20 Old 03-31-2003, 06:54 PM

I agree that fresh avacado is a great baby food.

Vegetable is not really a clearly defined word. At the grocery store many things are considered vegetables, as is the whole plant that produces food. I think most of us think as sweet things as fruit and others as vegetables.

Biologists define a fruit as a plant part that grows from a flower and contains seeds-- so cucumbers, tomatoes and avacados are the fruit of a plant, and leaves, roots, or stems are not fruits.
#5 of 20 Old 03-31-2003, 06:55 PM - Thread Starter

Thank you so much ladies! One last question, what color should they be? Black or green?