Peeling hard boiled eggs - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 25 Old 11-13-2006, 07:37 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I was vegan for a LONG time so I have no experience here. I thought I remembered someone saying that there is a trick to making hard boiled aggs easier to peel. I just spent a very frustrating half hour trying to peel 6 eggs. I wasted a great deal of egg because the whites were stuck to the shell. What is the trick?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 25 Old 11-13-2006, 07:42 PM

Starting with old eggs helps immensely. Fresh eggs are extremely hard to peel, IME. I run my eggs under the faucet while peeling, as the water helps separate the shell from the white. My other tip is to start with the larger end of the egg, using the air pocket there to help you get under the membrane. HTH.

crafty mama to Chloe and Emma (10/08) and Piper
emergency medicine PA and single mother by choice
#3 of 25 Old 11-13-2006, 07:45 PM

They also peel a bit easier if you peel them while they're still hot instead of completely cool. I just cool them down enough to handle them (in a bowl of cold water), and peel them in the water.
#4 of 25 Old 11-13-2006, 08:24 PM

Definitely make sure you use old eggs--I leave mine out for a while before I make hard boiled eggs with them.
#5 of 25 Old 11-13-2006, 10:51 PM

If you aren't going to use them right away and want them to keep for later, it seems to help if you give them a good shock in cold water after cooking. Just keep running the cold over them until the water stops turning warm (does that makes sense?).

Allison.... mom of DS1 (7) and DS2 (4) and awaiting #3 near the end of April 2011
#6 of 25 Old 11-13-2006, 10:55 PM