Bread Bakers Unite! - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 208 Old 07-27-2007, 01:47 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I thought I'd start a thread just for the bread baker's out there! please post your favorite recipes,tips, links,etc here! :

Blissful Mama to DD-(5), DS-(6) and someone new due in November!
#2 of 208 Old 07-27-2007, 01:49 PM - Thread Starter

my currently favorite blog
http://ayearinbread.earthandhearth.com/

#3 of 208 Old 07-27-2007, 02:09 PM

Wow great thread. Lets keep it alive!

I dont have anything to add yet, just that I love the Laurels Kitchen breadbook. I am interested in some great multigrain bread recipes and come recipes for crusty bread. Thanks for starting this.

Living the Joyful life as a mama of three beautiful children who are just right the way they are.

I blog at www.saboss.blogspot.com chicken3.gif

#4 of 208 Old 07-28-2007, 12:34 PM

I'm a big bread baker, but I use commercial yeast not just sourdough. I use sprouted grains but not entirely, and I soak the whole grains I do use. I still bake bread with some white unbleached flour otherwise no one would eat it here! (For sandwiches at least). Dinner breads are sometimes 100% grains

ETA: I think I'l post a recipe after I make them over the next few days....I'm testing honey wheat rolls
#5 of 208 Old 07-28-2007, 03:53 PM

I'm a fairly new bread baker. I started with the no knead bread recipe and have fallen in love from there. I've been making our pita bread and buttermilk biscuits. I've also tried my hand at french bread a couple times.

The bread book I have is called The Bread Bible by Beth Hensperger.

I'm working on sandwich bread, but I really need to get a thermometer. All my recipes call for heating the milk and I have no idea of the temperature.
#6 of 208 Old 07-28-2007, 04:35 PM