Why doesn't my percolator perk? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 8 Old 09-09-2007, 05:21 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I'm a newbie percolator user. We're planning on going camping at one point, so I figured I'd get one and learn to use it before we went. We usually don't drink coffee but there's something about coffee around the campfire that's so comforting.

It appears to have all the pieces: brewing vessel, lid, glass top, basket, stem and basket lid. I did get it used so I got no instructions with it.

I put some water in it and tried to boil it, just to see how it works and the water boils but it doesn't come up the tube. No perking! What can I do? The tube isn't clogged.

Thanks in advance!
#2 of 8 Old 09-09-2007, 08:17 PM

There are instructions here. Along with diagrams.

Because of how it works, I don't think you'll see "perking" unless you actually have coffee in the basket.

HTH

Cristeen ~ Always remembering our stillheart.gif  warrior ~ Our rainbow1284.gif  is 3, how'd that happen?!?! 

We welcomed another rainbow1284.gifstillheart.gif  warrior in May 2012!! 

2012 Decluttering challenge - 575/2012

#3 of 8 Old 09-09-2007, 11:55 PM - Thread Starter

Thanks! I will try again tomorrow and this time with some coffee.
#4 of 8 Old 09-12-2007, 11:46 PM - Thread Starter

Ok tried it twice today, with coffee both times. It works!

Only problem now seems to be that not very much water makes it up the pipe. I don't know if that's because of the design of the one I have or I had the temp wrong. When I opened it after 5 minutes of boiling, one side of the coffee was dry.

Any ideas on that?

Oh and I totally know why the coffee is supposed to be a coarser grind for percolators.. had I drank this, it would have been chewable coffee.
#5 of 8 Old 09-13-2007, 12:59 AM

Check that all the holes in the cover are clear. And it should boil until it stops perking.