coconut oil as dairy sub in GF bread? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 5 Old 04-15-2008, 07:57 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I'm looking for a butter/margarine substitute to use when baking my own GF breads. I'm totally new to breadmaking, but I just recieved a breadmaker and I'm sick to death of the store-bought GF bricks they try to pass off as food. Will coconut oil work? IF so, do I have to decrease the amount of liquids in the recipe? How much?

The only recipe book that I have is "The Gluten-Free Gourmet Bakes Bread" and I have to say that I'm not totally excited about it. I eat a whole foods diet and I have no intention of adding things like powdered milk and potato buds to recipes. Anyone know of another recipe book that is gluten/dairy free AND whole foods-based?
#2 of 5 Old 04-15-2008, 08:32 PM

You can substitute coconut oil for butter/marg/veg oil. You can also substitute cow milk with coconut milk or hemp milk. Coconut milk is better then hemp when cooking, IMO. I have never changed any amounts of anything when I bake, just substitute.

As for books, I'll : because I really don't have any and need to get some gluten/dairy free suggestions as well.

wife to DH 2/03, mama to DS 3/03 & DD 1/09
#3 of 5 Old 04-16-2008, 10:44 AM

Quoted: 1 Post(s)
I've used coconut oil for several baked goods recipes and it seems fine. I don't think there's a need to modify the amount of liquid because the coconut oil is pure fat--there's no extra water. And if it were a cold day at your house, the coconut oil would be solid anyway, making it easier to see it as a direct fat substitute.