Help me with tonight's dinner please! - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 12 Old 05-13-2008, 02:46 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I've got hardly anything fresh to use, as i'm stuck home w/out transport for now. I've got plenty of the usual suspects in my pantry, but i'm not too good at just throwing things together.
What i do have: A large sweet potato, onions, brussels sprouts, 1/4 savoy cabbage, celery, leftover roast lamb, oven dried tomatoes, chorizo.
Oh, and i'm growing arugula and basil too.
My pantry has the regular stuff like red lentils, tinned beans, tomato sauce, rice, pasta, etc.
Has anyone got any ideas for me? I need to make something hot as it's pretty cold and rainy here today, and my DH will not appreciate another salad after working all day!
Thanks mamas!
Trish
#2 of 12 Old 05-13-2008, 09:14 AM

Make a stew with the chorizo, the sweet potato, and some beans (black if you have them, or red, or lentils). saute some onion, garlic, green pepper if you have it, then add the (cooked) chorizo and the diced sw. potato and the beans. Add some tomatoes -- diced or tomato sauce. A little cumin, chili powder, and something spicy (cayenne, jalepenos, chipotles, etc.) if you like. simmer until it's all cooked, and serve over rice.
#3 of 12 Old 05-13-2008, 11:25 AM

That stew sounds yummy! Or a simple lamb stew to use up the leftover using the sweet potato, onion, celery. A side dish of chorizo braised brussels and chopped cabbage. I'm hungry......
#4 of 12 Old 05-13-2008, 11:44 AM

I agree with the stew! It sounds yummy and exactly what I would make. I might add a salad to go with it though, but I LOVE salads! If you have butter and nuts you could make brussel sprouts sauted in browned butter with toasted nuts tossed in. SOOOOOO YUMMY!! All you have to do is steam your sprouts, quarter them, heat the butter till it's browned and fragrant, toss in the sprouts and nuts and heat through. Now I'm hungry!