The healthy food is making me feel awful! Help! - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 23 Old 07-24-2008, 03:18 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I've been eating very healthily for a couple of months now and it seems like my stomach is always unhappy. I constantly am bloated, have diarrhea or constipation, have heartburn, have painful gas cramps, or am burping every two minutes.

Gah! I know leafy greens are hard to digest. I chew very, very thoroughly. Is there something I can eat in conjunction with all the leafy greens that will help?

This is what I ate yesterday and this is a pretty average day of eating for me:

Breakfast: 1/2 cup of low fat/high fiber organic cereal with fresh strawberries and raspberries with 1/3 cup of skim milk

Snack: Handful of raw almonds

Lunch: Medium sized salad of mixed baby greens, alfalfa sprouts, and beans (lentils and soy) with a tablespoon of balsamic vinaigrette and a banana

Dinner: 1/2 boneless, skinless organic chicken, 1/2 cup of whole grain angel hair pasta, 2 table spoons of marinara, 1/2 cup (or more) of bell peppers and a bowl of fresh fruit (strawberries, raspberries, figs).

My stomach never seems entirely happy. Its at its absolute worst after salads and other dark, leafy greens like broccoli and spinach. They sometimes make me feel nauseous and often extremely bloated (even with a normal sized serving that I eat slowly and chew well). I don't feel full, just really bloated.

It's just really frustrating me. I feel like the more I improve my diet, the more upset my stomach. Why?
#2 of 23 Old 07-24-2008, 04:15 PM

Maybe not enough fat and/or too much gluten/dairy? Also, I suggest lightly steaming your vegetables or sauteing them with a little olive oil. When I was on a "healthy" low-fat diet, I was miserable. Now I eat more good fats like olive oil and nuts, steam or saute most veggies, and go without the gluten, and I feel much better.
#3 of 23 Old 07-24-2008, 04:16 PM