Mothering Forum banner

Need advice- student teaching and 10 month old

443 views 2 replies 3 participants last post by  Honey693 
#1 ·
So in august my son will be 9.5 months old and I will be doing my student teaching. I am debating trying to pump for him, giving formula, or regular milk.

I am really against both formula or regular milk, but I am not really going to have time/privacy to pump for him. Since I am not an employee i don't really have a lot of options.

I think i could probably pump at least at lunch, but the pump I have from WIC sucks, well it doesn't suck that is the problem.

Right now he is eating solids pretty well.

Basically I need some support that I can actually pump enough for him in a limited amount of time.

How much do you all think he will need in a day if he is eating solids as well.

Previously when he was being watched by a friend for a few hours at a time, he would only eat enough to tide him over until i returned.

#2 ·
I am a teacher, and only pumped once a day at school (at lunch) with both my dd's. My first dd never had any formula, and judging from my freezer supply, neither will my second.

I will say though that the older both my girls got, the less I was able to pump. You might not get enough out of one pumping session to feed him for the entire time you are gone. But if you pump in the morning before you leave that will help.

I always did this- pumped right after feeding in the morning before we left, that was bottle #1. Then I pumped at lunch, and saved that for bottle #2. Both girls only took 2 bottles a day, so that was plenty. If I ever needed more, I just took it from my freezer supply that I built by pumping on breaks, weekends, and my maternity leave.