prepping to nurse baby #2? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 5 Old 01-10-2010, 01:32 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Is anyone doing anything to prep for nursing baby #2 or 3, or 4? I nursed DD for almost 3 years, we weaned a month before her birthday this past March, so I have lots of experience. But nursing a toddler and nursing a newborn are two totally different things and it will have been 4 years since I nursed a newborn. Will it all come back to me? Or should I take breastfeeding class again? Read some books? Is anyone else doing anything?

Mom to Morgan 4-3-06 and announcing Baby Kelsey 4-11-10
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 5 Old 01-10-2010, 03:42 AM

I was amazed at how easy #2 was. With #1 we were both learning. With #2 I felt like I knew what I was doing and could guide her. It felt so natural the second time around.

Mama to DS (6/07) h20homebirth.gif, DD (6/09) h20homebirth.gif, and DD (07/12) homebirth.jpg..

#3 of 5 Old 01-10-2010, 11:02 AM

i nursed my first for 18 months and it was a breeze from the start. This time around I had a lot of trouble in the beginning, DD#2 had a really high palate and getting her latched on was such a struggle and so frustrating. Even 8 weeks in we were still struggling. I was so glad I'd had a good experience the first time around to encourage me to power through that time, I'm so glad she was my second or I'd probably have given up on nursing her. I can now see how first time moms can give up! She's now almost 5 months old and nursing great though.

So I think it all comes back and there is no need for classes, but each baby is so different, it can never hurt.
#4 of 5 Old 01-10-2010, 11:52 PM

For me it had been almost 8 yrs., so I refreshed my copy of The Womanly Art of Breastfeeding.

, , , mama to Ross , Reagan (8/29/05), Joshua (from Haiti...here NOW due to the earthquake!), and Elijah , born safely 9-8-09.
#5 of 5 Old 01-11-2010, 12:06 AM