Newborn and Blister on Lip, Please Help - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 13 Old 06-19-2010, 10:29 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
My 2 week old has a small blister on the top middle of his lip. He got it a few days after birth and I assumed it was because we had not gotten the hang of a good latch at that point. I canceled my lactation appt because I thought we had the hang of BF'ing as I have a good milk supply and he is latching well (I assume since I have no pain and his mouth is open pretty wide). Now the blister is starting to get hard, like a callous on his lip. I don't know if this is normal as it is my first time BF'ing.... Any advice?!?

Wifey to my DH 9/2005 and always busy SAHM  to my beautiful boys  twins.gif   Elijah 12/2008 and Caeleb 6/2010
Our baby girl  stork-girl.gif is arriving October 2012!!!

#2 of 13 Old 06-19-2010, 10:45 PM

congrats sweetie!!!

so are we thinking cold sore or just blister? is it interferring with the nursing?

if its not interferring i would probably leave it alone and hope it goes away....

Young born-again mama and loving wife peace.gif to DH jammin.gif and SAHP to two crazy girls dust.gifwehomebirth.jpgfly-by-nursing2.gifslinggirl.giffamilybed1.gif and believe gd.giflactivist.gif  signcirc1.gif !

#3 of 13 Old 06-19-2010, 11:24 PM

my baby also developed the same thing. I'm pretty sure it just goes away on its own as it doesn't seem to bother her in the slightest. IIRC its just the lips getting used to the nursing.

Emy, mama to Kate (3/07) and Samantha (4/10)
#4 of 13 Old 06-19-2010, 11:49 PM

I agree - I wouldn't worry about it. My son had them really bad when he was first born - it looked like his lips were chapped. They would get hard, peel, then form again. Gradually they went away. He's 3 mo now and doesn't have them at all.
#5 of 13 Old 06-20-2010, 12:47 AM