Am I being selfish and ridiculous? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 6 Old 01-04-2011, 06:57 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I was unsuccessful at BFing DS and now 13 months later i've begun to mourn the missing relationship with him and with my own body.

Would it be silly for me to attempt to relactate just so I can say I can make milk? Of course I'd give anything I pump to DS in his sippy. If I'm super successful, I'd be interested in donating.

Cloth diapering, intactivist, babywearing, SAHM to DS with severe eczema born 10/17/09!!Attempting to relactate!
#2 of 6 Old 01-04-2011, 08:06 PM

I know a mom who is trying to relactate for her 12 month old. It can be really difficult and frustrating, but I think you should go for it if it's what you want! At this age, he can rely on more solids for nutrition, and bf'ing can be something you do for the bonding.

I'm no expert though, hoping someone will chime in . . . .

ETA: Just focused in on the title of this thread and you are absolutely NOT selfish OR ridiculous for wanting this!

L, student nurse and married to A, my union man. Happy parents to little S!   joy.gif

#3 of 6 Old 01-04-2011, 09:33 PM

Location: A state whose Medicaid does not cover circumcision! :)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)

Go for it!  That is absolutely, 100% NOT RIDICULOUS!!!  But I guess I'd say dont get your hopes up too much because like the aphel said, it can be difficult. 

It is a very admirable thing you are thinking of doing, most moms are too selfish to even try BF in the first place.  Believe me, I live in a small town in a part of Montana that is VERY resistant to change and is WAY behind on the environmentally friendly and natural living.  MOST moms around here automatically do formula because it is easiest and they think there is no difference b/w thier milk and formula.  WOW

#4 of 6 Old 01-05-2011, 05:31 AM

Quoted: 1 Post(s)