Gassy Foods? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 4 Old 01-13-2011, 11:13 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

A pediatric chiropractor listed off a ton of veggies that should be avoided while breastfeeding due to gassiness in babies...anyone find this to be true?  I am not a vegetarian by any stretch, but I certainly love a wide variety of veggies.  I feel like I'm going to become the worlds worst eater to avoid gassy foods.  Any suggestions?

#2 of 4 Old 01-13-2011, 03:26 PM

I am by no means an expert but I can tell you my experience:  I have a 5 month old that I ebf and I eat a ton of veggies.  When I asked my midwife if there were any foods I should avoid she instructed me to eat what I normally eat, because that will someday be baby's normal diet.  He wakes up farting almost every morning, but never acts upset.  I do sometimes give him gas drops before bed if I know I just ate a big offender.  I think keeping yourself healthy is very important and you don't want to have to give up veggies. 

I am curious to see the other answers.  Sometimes I feel really guilty when my little one is really gassy.

novaxnocirc.gifbfinfant.gifwaterbirth.jpghomebirth.jpg
#3 of 4 Old 01-13-2011, 03:34 PM

I never gave up any foods.  I think (unless there is a true allergy issue) that all foods should be fine.  Babies have an immature digestive system and it may seem like broccoli, beans, etc made them gassy but it really is just the immature systems working to mature. 

I found this very helpful:

http://www.kellymom.com/nutrition/mom/mom-foods.html

We eat a lot of spicy foods -- Mexican, Indian, Thai, etc. and neither of my boys had any problems with the beans, lentils, spice when nursing.  These foods are staples across the world so I find it hard to believe that they can be "bad for breastfeeding".