Extended Breastfeeding Advice for Working Mother - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 8 Old 06-06-2011, 12:57 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Hey, ladies.  I'm a full-time professor who is home for the summer until the end of August with my sweet almost 8-month-old girl.  She was exclusively breastfed until 6 months, and she is still predominantly nourished by my milk. Nursing was a breeze for us, really.  She latched on fine, and even when I returned to work, I was able to pump once a day and come home for lunch for a feeding.  We cosleep, which helps with my supply, and I've always loved the time I spend nursing her.  Here is my issue: I assumed I would stop BFing at 1 year--which she will turn in October--but now I'm not ready to quit so soon.  I want to nurse her until she is 2, but I wonder about the logistics.  Here are my questions:

1. As long as my supply is okay, could I stop pumping and just feed her before work and on demand after work and through the night?

2.  Did you immediately start your babe on cow's milk or soy milk after one year?  Did this help with how much breastfeeding was still necessary? I figure that she could have cow/soy milk during the day and solids, which will keep her full.

3.  How much opposition did you face from others when you continued to feed after one year?  This is just a curiosity question and not really part of my problem, as I have lots of supportive friends, but I do have some ignorant family members with which I must contend. 

Thanks for the insight, ya'll.

I'm a professor and a domestic goddess married to my ideal mate. We are living in bliss with our new baby girl, Rowan Graham, born October 8, 2010.
#2 of 8 Old 06-06-2011, 01:12 PM

Good for you! I'm not an expert, but here's my experience:

1. As long as my supply is okay, could I stop pumping and just feed her before work and on demand after work and through the night?