Nursing and shift work - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 4 Old 06-26-2011, 06:37 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I'm going back to work in one week, and I'll be away from DS for over 12 hours (my 12 hr shifts are 7 - 7, two days, followed by two nights) at a time, so on day shifts, I'll be gone before he wakes up, and back around the time he goes to bed, so in essence, I won't see him at all! Terrible.

How do I keep nursing? Any tips or suggestions from moms who are away from their kids for long stretches of time? I know I'll have some engorgement and my body will have to adjust, and I have a breast pump. But I'm worried about still feeling connected to DS.  

A + J = Miriam (November 2006) and Raymond (June 2010)
#2 of 4 Old 06-26-2011, 07:24 PM

Hi atpeace. I was in the same boat as you going back to work. I am an ER nurse and work 7-7 12 hr shifts also. I found that I had to pump at LEAST 3 times per shift to keep up my supply and just to feel as if I wouldnt explode. It really stinks being away from my LO during these shifts too. I would usually wake him up early to feed him before a shift. It gives us some time together and it really helps with not having to pump right when I got to work. My DS usually would fall right back to sleep after nursing so waking him up wasnt a big glitch in his schedule. We are now at 13 months and going strong with the nursing. Lately I havent had to pump at all at work. Due to his solid food intake we are only nursing about 3-4 times in a 24hr period. Your employer should provide a nice quiet spot for you to use your pump. It is actually a law now here in the US. I would assume Canada would have a similar take on breast feeding. My advice is to try the early morning nursing session, it really worked for us. Good luck to you!

A Mommy In Love!!!

#3 of 4 Old 07-01-2011, 09:37 AM - Thread Starter