pump washing tips for a bit of a slacker - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 26 Old 09-25-2011, 01:27 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Looking for some tips from fellow pumping mamas.  I am a high school teacher and mama to a 6 month old and 4 year old.  I pump 2x a day at work and usually once in the morning before I leave.  I don't have access to a private fridge, so I bring 2 sets of horns etc. in a clean ziploc and toss the used ones in a separate ziploc.  I wait and wash everything once I get home.  When I get home,  I dump it all in a large bowl of hot soapy water to soak.  I wash and rinse it all once I get everyone to sleep about 3-4 hours later. 

A few q's:

1) Is it a total bacteria hazard to leave the dirty ones in a plastic bag while I'm at work?

2) Is it bad to leave everything soaking in soap & water once I get home?  Also, is soap & water enough or do I need to be sterilizing?

3) I've heard that this stuff (minus the membranes) can be washed in the dishwasher.  If you do this, can you tell me what kind of basket you have?  I ordered one and it is way too small for the horns.

This system works for me, but I worry that I'm cutting too many corners and that my lack of germaphobe tendencies are going to catch up with me.  Looking forward to hear how others do it. I would consider buying a mini fridge if it would make life easier/safer.  Thanks

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 26 Old 09-25-2011, 02:46 PM

I don't know if it's a bacteria breeding ground, but when my DS was in the NICU, the nurses recommended I keep a cooler next to my bed to store the pump parts in the middle of the night.  You could try that during that day instead of buying a mini-fridge.

I always just used the Medela steam bags to sanitize everything, including the membranes.  You pop everything in the microwave for 3 or 5 minutes with a little bit of water and it's all sanitized.