Early transition to pumping? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 6 Old 11-29-2012, 04:22 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Hi everyone!  I'm new to this part of the forum.  I'm about 4 months along with #2.  I pumped for the first few months with #1 and supplemented with formula. This time around I'd like to try to breastfeed from day one and switch to pumping as early as I can without supplementing if possible.  What is the best way to transition?  How early can this be done?  I'll most likely be purchasing the electric pump (dual) this time around....otherwise I will rent it again from the hospital.  Let me know if you need more info or anything.  Obviously I have a bit of time, just trying to think things out in advance :)

SAHM to DD1 shy.gif, DD2 baby.gif, and one m/c angel.gif

#2 of 6 Old 11-29-2012, 09:02 PM

Why are you looking into switching to pumping? Are you going to be going back to work?

Midwife (CPM, LDM) and homeschooling mama to:
13yo ds   10yo dd  8yo ds and 6yo ds and 1yo ds  
#3 of 6 Old 11-30-2012, 06:22 PM - Thread Starter

No, I wont be working.  Its both a personal preference and to have my DH and DD involved in feeding the baby.  I liked that with DD, she was still getting "the good stuff" but my DH could help with feedings and got to be involved.  I had a hard time with breastfeeding, mostly because of time in the NICU, and for some reason it REALLY hurt me.  Hopefully this time around the first part will not be an issue and I can breastfeed easier from the start.  I also like the ability to have some milk stored. 

SAHM to DD1 shy.gif, DD2 baby.gif, and one m/c angel.gif

#4 of 6 Old 12-01-2012, 11:39 PM

I think there have been threads for moms who were EP'ing (exclusively pumping). You might want to search for those.

Midwife (CPM, LDM) and homeschooling mama to:
13yo ds   10yo dd  8yo ds and 6yo ds and 1yo ds  
#5 of 6 Old 12-02-2012, 09:12 AM