afraid of psychological impact of weaning two year old - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 3 Old 12-03-2012, 01:52 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I have been nursing almost continuously for 5 years now, and feel discomfort during nursing, feel dizzy after, and have torn my knee due to loose ligaments. I feel like my body can't take it anymore.
But my 2.5 y old is sooooo very bummed about no more mama milk. It is like I have shot her through the heart w a mean mommy arrow
While I feel like I can't anymore, and should respect nature's signals, my little dolly loves mama milk so very much that she walks around heart broken all day.
I feel like I am so torn.
What should I do? What is the.impact of mommy led weaning vs child led weaning beyond infancy?
TIA
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 3 Old 12-03-2012, 05:02 PM

Quoted: 2 Post(s)

hello.

poor heart.

If you are feeling dizzy after, flags are going off. like...are you pregnant, how are your adrenals, etc. I hope you are well.

Is sitting her down and having a talk about how this is hurting you and it just can't go on anymore an option? Perhaps explaining how she is ready for the next step of little girl and getting her a symbolic gesture...like a nice lovey, a wallet/purse, something...maybe going through the baby album and looking at the changes what was once and will never be again. It can be a genuine moment for the two of you on equal ground. is gradually going down an option have you already gone cold turkey?