freezer stash older than 6 months - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 01-31-2013, 05:43 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)

I have some milk in my freezer, i'd estimate 10-15 bags, 3-6  oz each. I got in a bad habit of not putting the date on my bags :( This was because I was pumping to donate, and I knew that it would quickly be gifted to a new family and be used up LONG before the date would need to be paid attention to. Well.. fast forward.. I'm now certain I have some milk older than 6 months. Probably around 9 months, but not much older than that. There's probably only 2-4 bags that are older than 6 months. Problem is, I have no way of knowing which ones! Its in the back of the freezer, just an ordinary one, not a deep freeze. I've heard that its obvious when milk is "bad".. thaw it and give it a sniff, and its obvious. I have no experience with this.. is this true? I would really like to give the milk away but I don't want to give anyone bad milk! I was thinking of offering it on human milk 4 human babies with a big fat disclaimer to give every thawed bag of milk a sniff test :/ And I will be dating every single bag from now on! And my most recent pump session I did date it ;) so there's a whopping 2 dated bags in the freezer. I know the demand for donor milk far exceeds the supply, so I cringe at dumping several bags of good milk just because we can't ID the old milk. 

dd (7) ds (5), ds (2) &3rdtri.gif hbac.gif and the furbabies cat.gifZeus, Dobby, Luna, & Ravenclaw
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-03-2013, 06:49 PM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)