Lazy latch - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 6 Old 07-03-2014, 03:11 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 110 Post(s)
Lazy latch

I am still breastfeeding my 20 month old but we have been slowly weaning due to me being pregnant. He is night weaned and down to only feeding twice a day( nap and bed). I started the weaning process like a 7 weeks ago, so we are taking it very slow. Anyhow lately his latch seems very lazy and he rests his teeth on my nipple while eating and it's very painful. This is my first time breastfeeding a toddler. My first I worked and only breastfeed her until she was 7 months old. Is this normal when they get older to just have a sloppy latch? I know my nipples are sensitive from pregnancy but it's getting unbearable with teeth clenching in on top of it. He's not biting necessarily so I don't know how to tell him to stop.
#2 of 6 Old 07-11-2014, 09:05 AM

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
I don't know if it is normal, but I had the same issues nursing my toddler. I started noticing teeth marks on my nipples (not painful) when she was a little less than three. Then when I got pregnant it was unbearable (and her latch seemed to get lazier). It almost felt like she was forgetting how to nurse. I did ask her to reposition herself sometimes, and would try to explain that what she was doing was bothering me, but it wasn't a great situation - she didn't seem to know what she was doing wrong and we would both get upset. We finally weaned, due to decreasing interest from her (and maybe less milk?) and excruciating pain for me. I also thought it might have to do with my breasts being engorged - so harder to latch on to.
#3 of 6 Old 07-12-2014, 05:28 AM - Thread Starter

Yea I'm sure my milks low. Sometimes we only nurse at night, I'm hoping my milk will dry up and he'll just loose interest. Same thing here it's like he forgot to nurse and he's not putting the whole nipple in his mouth.