Need some encouragement and advice - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 10 Old 08-12-2004, 07:09 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I have a 2 month old girl that I am nursing, and want to continue nursing her as long as I possibly can. I keep getting pressured by my mother to put her on formula b/c she feels like nursing is too time consuming and keeps me from going places and not to mention.....the baby visiting with her, alone. I guess you can say I'm new to nursing although I have a 4 year old that I nursed for only 2 1/2 months.(I was feeling pressured with him too, along with my doctor putting me on bc pills which ultimately affected my milk supply)
I need some advice on how to get my mother off of my back without hurting her feelings.(she never nursed my brother or myself)I tried explaining the reasons I chose to nurse my daughter, as well as the benefits. Also, I am determined not to be stuck at home while nursing this time around.I just need to get over feeling uncomfortable nursing in public, and figure out how to prepare for away visits with grandma. Any suggestions or advice is appreciated. Thanks.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 10 Old 08-12-2004, 07:47 PM

You need to be firm with your mom. Honestly, don't worry so much about hurting her feelings -- she's an adult, she'll get over it. You don't have to be rude or mean about it -- just say "Mom, this is what I've decided is best for my family and I'm not changing my mind, so I wish you would support it." If she won't support it, that's her problem, not yours.

I also have a (almost) two month old, and nursing hasn't been easy for me. But "time consuming" and "can't stay with grandma" are the least of my worries. I nurse everywhere and I don't think anyone has seen anything they didn't want to. And pumping a bottle every once in a while so DH can watch Ian while I shop or something isn't too hard.

Good luck.
#3 of 10 Old 08-12-2004, 08:02 PM