Would you agree to do this? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 11 Old 03-10-2005, 06:35 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I have been working for nearly 9 years at a pretty conservative, large, global consulting firm. I went back to work when my twins were 1 year old on a part-time schedule (Mon-Wed 9-3). I am currently on matenity leave, not sure how long I'll extend my leave for this time but I'm not going back anytime soon.

My firm has just received an award for supporting work-life balance of our employees. The director of corporate HR just called me and asked me to represent the firm at the awards dinner at a swanky hotel downtown in a few weeks. I'd have to be at the dinner (obviously) and go onstage, give a little speech, etc., etc.

I told her that I am on maternity leave (she didn't know that) and nursing, and well, where I go, baby goes too.

Unbelievably, she was okay with that. I mean, I know the award is for work-life balance, but at my company that means allowing people to leave at 5pm not bringing a baby to an awards dinner LOL! :LOL

Anyway, she said she still wanted me to do it if I could and yes I could bring the baby. I have to let her know within the week.

Now I am the one freaking out. Would you go? Am I nuts to suddenly feel shy about putting on a fancy suit, walking into a room filled with stodgy corporate types with me wearing a sling, and nursing a gurgling baby while saying "I'll have the ribeye" ??!! Can you friggin imagine trying to get a newborn to latch on in a sling while standing at a podium?!

Would you go??? Am I totally lame for even thinking of passing up this opportunity?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 11 Old 03-10-2005, 06:43 PM