Question about nursing frequency and supply - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 6 Old 01-18-2003, 10:03 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I'm a SAHM with an exclusively bf 7 month old. I do work three Saturdays a month. DH brings babe to work and I nurse her. I;m not nursing her nearly as much as I normally do when we are home. I don't really count her nursings during the day so hard to say how often she does. Certainly for meals and for comfort when she falls. (She is full tilt crawling and pulling up on things and occasionally takes a spill if I'm not in arms reach). I would have to guess that she nurses at least 8 times during the day. On a working Sat she might only nurse 3.
Is nursing less frequently one day a week going to impact my supply?

"To err is human, to forgive, canine." - Unknown
#2 of 6 Old 01-19-2003, 12:56 AM

I'm no expert, but I doubt it. Does she nurse more once you're home to make up for lost time? Does she nurse longer at work than she might when she has you available all the time? She's probably a very efficient nurser at this point, too.

I think you're probably fine, but why don't you email some of the LLL leader types here like DaryLLL just to make sure?

Come visit the NEW QuirkyBaby website -- earn QB Bucks rewards points for purchases, reviews, referrals, and more! Free US shipping on great brands of baby slings and carriers and FREE BabyLegs or babywearing mirror on orders of $100+. Take the QB Quiz for personalized advice!

#3 of 6 Old 01-19-2003, 10:22 AM - Thread Starter