Another question - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 02-16-2003, 01:12 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I've never used a real breast pump before. My SIL bought one for herself and has loaned it to me. Nice, huh? It's a Medela Pump In Style.

Are there parts of this I need to replace for my own use?

TIA
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-17-2003, 07:13 AM

Yes! Absolutely replace the horns and the parts on the horns. If you have a hosp. birth ask them for the medela pump attachements. Gotta Run DD just woke!

Wife to my wonderful Pablo, mum to Roo 8/10/01, Vin 1/10/07, Bug 6/3/07, Butterbean 12/12/09
Old 02-19-2003, 04:51 PM

Maybe I'm gross, but I borrowed my step sister's PIS and only soaked the parts in bleach to sanitize them. (Made sure I rinsed them really, really well and could no longer smell the bleach smell on the parts. Don't want DS to be drinking bleach! )
I'm not a "germ" phobic person at all though, not that the other poster was, so this didn't bother me at all.
I know my step sister doesn't have any contagious diseases...

Just thought you'd like to know that some people don't replace all the parts, even if it is recommended.

Marcy
Old 02-19-2003, 07:02 PM

It's not that expensive to get the parts you need for yourself: tubes, horns, and valves. You can get them separately at

http://www.breastfeed-essentials.com/accessories.html

Come visit the NEW QuirkyBaby website -- earn QB Bucks rewards points for purchases, reviews, referrals, and more! Free US shipping on great brands of baby slings and carriers and FREE BabyLegs or babywearing mirror on orders of $100+. Take the QB Quiz for personalized advice!

Old 02-19-2003, 07:47 PM

When I was considering loaning my pump in style during a friend's emergency, the lactation consultant said that a thorough cleaning would take care of any germs.