How long should I pump? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 8 Old 03-06-2003, 03:48 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
My baby just celebrated her first Birthday yesterday... I have been working full time and pumping since she was three months old. I am so sick of pumping, but want to continue brestfeeding. I am concerned that if I stop pumping, I will not have enough milk when I am with my daughter. Any insight would be very much appreciated.
#2 of 8 Old 03-06-2003, 04:23 PM
Banned

If I remember correctly, there was a thread that touched on this in the Parenting forum. It may have been somewhere in the long, initial WOHM thread. There were a wide variety of responses, but i think the general consensus was that stopping pumping didn't cause problems for most of the moms re having a sufficient supply when with their child. I, too, was leery of not having enough, and only just returned my pump (I was renting); dd is 22 months old.

How much are you pumping per day, and how many times per day do you pump?
#3 of 8 Old 03-06-2003, 04:39 PM

I'm pretty sure you'll still have enough milk for when you're with your daughter.

I pumped for dd (now 16 months) until a few months ago.. She pretty much stopped drinking any milk during the day, and dh thinks it's gross to put my milk into her cereal : So I stopped pumping. and it's been fine.

it's a bit tough on Mondays, I feel pretty engorged by the time I get home (coz dd nurses during the day on the weekends, too)

but it hasn't been a problem.

do it slowly - maybe cut out a pumping at a time. see how that goes.

good luck!! and for going this long!!
#4 of 8 Old 03-06-2003, 04:51 PM

I think I could've gone a little longer but DD got used to it in the space of a week. Getting DD to nap without a bottle was a challenge for DH in the beg, but it did work out.

Of course she was eating pretty well by that time. She's 2.5 years old now, so I guess it worked out!