Pumping at work? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 01-11-2007, 02:04 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Not sure where this should go. Mods, feel free to move if needed.

I'm a teacher, and I have a very limited amount of time to pump. Some days it's non-exsistent. This, as you can imagine, has not been good for my supply. Right now, I'm pumping once a day around 2 pm. If I could, I really could use 2ce a day once around 11 and again around 2. I don't think that' s going to happen, but if there is some kind of law on the books, I would like to at least ensure that I get 1 session a day. So, is there a website that spells out the laws for each state as far as what employers have to give you? I live in Virginia and did a google search, but couldn't find anything. Thanks for any help.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-11-2007, 03:32 AM

Check out www.LLLI.org. they have a whole legal area sectioned by state. Also, check ot the awesome website http://www.workandpump.com. I am sure there are teachers there that could lend some advice.
Old 01-11-2007, 04:11 PM

There are no laws, usually. Sorry. Good luck with your pumping. I know my brother, a junior high teacher, has a co-worker who pumps under one of those hooter hiders. She gives the class a reading assignment or test then goes to her desk and pumps.

Can you pump during recess/lunch?
Old 01-12-2007, 02:17 PM

I can't help you with the pumping at school question but have you considered co-sleeping to encourage "reverse-cycling" which might reduce DC's daytime intake and has the additional advantage of maintaining your supply? If safety is an issue for you the Kellymom article and attached list of resources gives lots of safety tips.

Co-sleeping / The Family Bed
http://www.kellymom.com/parenting/sleep/familybed.html

Reverse Cycling
http://www.kellymom.com/bf/normal/reverse-cycling.html

Good luck,
~Cath
Old 01-12-2007, 04:06 PM