Friend wants to bf all day, give formula at night - comments? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 46 Old 07-31-2007, 04:43 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hello!
I am very new to this posting stuff, but a recent conversation with a friend has me hoping that all of the mdc experts will be able to share experiences/comments. I have never used formula (dd is 6 months now) so I can't offer her any words of experienced wisdom. Maybe you can!
My friend's baby boy is due to arrive in about 2 months. She is planning to bf except at bedtime, when she plans to use formula to hopefully get a longer stretch of sleep from her little one. I tend to be a little over-opinionated, so I didn't offer much of a response, but it seemed to me that there may be several good reasons not to do that! Not just that formula is yucky. Or maybe this is a good strategy that actually works. What do you think? I was blessed that my little angel slept for 6 hour stretches at 6 weeks old, and I didn't really care if I was sleep deprived anyway (I just figured all moms are!). Comments please!

Co-sleeping-cloth-diapering-pumping-non-vaxing Mama to Cricket 1-18-07 and Mauri 5-27-09
Married to my favorite SAHD, Outnumbered by woolies
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 46 Old 07-31-2007, 04:58 PM

I breastfeed during the day and my dd gets a bottle of formula at bedtime. but that is only because i have severe PPD and it was drs orders so that i get sleep. if i had had my way she would be exclusively breastfed but it's a long story and now she is mostly breastfed, she gets max 2 bottles of formula a day but i try to keep it to only one if i can help it. it did help my dd sleep through the night at first but now she wakes up at least once during the night. so there is no gaurentee that the baby will sleep better. i would suggest first trying to breastfeed exclusively and then see what happens.

-gwerydd

: : :