BFing advice/books - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 10 Old 08-30-2007, 03:49 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I'm bfing and all seems to be going well and good. 3 1/2 wk old dd latches on great now and the supply seems to be there but...
she wants to nurse constantly! i didn't think it was an issue (still don't really) but i'm new to all this and want to make sure i'm doing it all right. just went to our local library and the only book they had even mentioning bfing was a pediatrics book telling me to give her sugar water if she eats more than once every 3 hours! : well, i put that book down.
so, what's your best advice as far as how often?
also, what bfing books do you recommend?
any other bfing advice? she seems to be congested and gassy...what to avoid eating?
thanks in advance!
#2 of 10 Old 08-30-2007, 03:56 PM

congrats!!!
as far as how often, well, whenever babe wants it! in fact, nursing often early on helps establish a good supply for the rest of your nursing relationship. i remember nursing pretty much constantly early on. sometimes she would only suck lightly and probably not get much, but it was very soothing for her and helped her cope with not being in the womb any longer. they need all the comfort we can give them when they are so little and vulnerable.
as far as foods to avoid, the 3 most common allergies are dairy, soy and eggs, so try eliminating one of those groups from your diet.
#3 of 10 Old 08-30-2007, 03:59 PM

my boy is four weeks old and he nurses constantly too.
my only problem with it is im sick of people telling me to give him a pacifier!

**-wendy, mama to elu!(8/1/07): **
#4 of 10 Old 08-30-2007, 04:03 PM

When my ds was that small it seemed like he was nursing ALL the time, but he was actually nursing about every two hours and latched on for about 45 minutes. By the time I had finished changing, playing with, dressing, bathing him, it seemed like it was time to start over. :