REALLY REALLY blocked duct - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 14 Old 07-28-2003, 10:22 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I'm somewhat new to breastfeeding (4 months), so I didn't notice this happening, but on friday night I got a huge fever and figured out that I had a plugged duct. So I started antibiotics on saturday to get rid of the infection, but I haven't been able to clear the duct yet. It's big-- like the size of an avocado pit, and the surface of the skin over it is bright red. I've tried doing the pressure massage Dr. Sears describes and soaking it in the shower and such, but nothing's helping. Does anyone haveany ideas? I don't want surgery!
Janine
#2 of 14 Old 07-28-2003, 11:18 PM

Ouch, that sounds like it's turned into mastitis. You saw a doctor to get the antibiotics, right? Didn't the doctor say it was mastitis?

There's good info here:
http://kellymom.com/bf/concerns/recurrent-mastitis.html

Briefly, what helped me most was:

1. warm compress for 5 mins before nursing
2. nurse
3. then ice pak in between nursing

take ibuprufen max dose to reduce inflammation and help with pain. Continue taking it for a few days after the plugged duct clears cause the resulting inflammation can make it likely to reoccur.

If your baby isn't nursing enough, then pump the affected breast as well.

The longest time I had a plugged duct was 3 days.
#3 of 14 Old 07-29-2003, 01:25 AM

I wonder if that isn't an abcess? And should be drained. Did the person who prescribed the antibiotics look at it?

I had tons of plugged ducts and mastitis a couple of times with my first. I massaged over the lumpy area while she was nursing with her nose pointed at the lump. I massaged it in the shower and filled up a deep sink with very hot water and immersed my breasts. That last helped the most to relieve the engorgment behind the plugged duct(s). Also taking homeopathic phytolacca helped prevent them in the first place.