Anyone tried massage for emotional release? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 5 Old 11-22-2003, 02:43 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I got this idea after seeing listings for massage therapists on my local PPD support website. One said she provided "Swedish massage, energy work, and emotional support." I started thinking about a couple of times while in massage or bodywork situations where I felt like emotions were wanting to escape, but of course I squelched the feeling because I didn't want to lose it and start bawling in front of a complete stranger. Now I'm wondering if I found someone I was comfortable with and who provided that sort of outlet, if it might be a good release. Just wondering if anyone has tried anything like that??

Carol
#2 of 5 Old 11-22-2003, 12:20 PM

I'm a massage therapist, & I've had that happen both to me and to clients I've had on the table. I'd be happy to talk to you about it via PM or email if you'd like~

Kathy
#3 of 5 Old 11-22-2003, 12:42 PM

Hi there,
I am also a massage therapist. I know what you mean about wanting to cry during a massage. I certainly have in the right hands.

Another modality I wanted to mention that I actually benefit from a lot these days is called unlimited body. It is hands on, but not manipulation like massage is. Hands on like energy work. You can talk all you want, cry all you want, rage on etc. Here is a description from their (not so good, in my opinion) website - "Unlimited Body uses the physical body to access the cellular memory where subconscious wounds and "misunderstandings” are stored waiting to be released. As the body is supported to feel safe, you can truly relax, reveal and permanently let go of these hidden traumas."

unlimited body

I noticed you live in Oregon. Are you near Portland? There is one practioner in the state in Portland. She is also a massage therapist.

oregon