Newspaper writing- Saving money - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 5 Old 12-29-2008, 08:02 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I'm a writer for a local paper doing a series on saving money during the recession- and saving money in general.

Anyone have any money saving ideas, tips, topics, etc. that they would like to see in print. I'm looking for general ideas like cloth diapers, homemade cleaning supplies, using the library, etc.

I'm at a standstill... please help!

(I'm pretty much free to write about anything so long as it saves money for the local readers)

I'm also open to other topics that don't focus on saving money that you would want to read about. Keep in mind that the readers are from a small county that farms not a big city!

THANKS!!!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 5 Old 12-30-2008, 02:00 PM

Quoted: 2 Post(s)
You should browse through the Frugality & Finances forum or maybe post the question there, you will get tons of ideas from mamas who are working hard to save money.

My biggest push at the moment is to save money on food.

#1 is we need to eat out less. It's so costly! We were snowed in for a week right before Christmas and I told DH I bet we saved TONS of money that week because we didn't eat out even once, not even a cup of hot cocoa from the espresso stand.

Something I learned recently... All our local groceries have a "clearance" pile of meats that you need to eat or freeze right away, and I look there first when I shop for meat. At the groceries that carry more organics, I can almost always get, say, organic beef for the same price as non-organic, sometimes slightly less. (Not so much chicken, alas, but there's one grocery that often has clearance ham.) If the prices are really good I'll buy more than I'll need for the week and freeze it.

Erin, mom to DD (1/06) and DS (10/09)
#3 of 5 Old 12-30-2008, 03:15 PM