Week Two: April 7 - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 1 Old 04-08-2005, 07:03 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Week Two: April 7

Dear writing mamas,

What an inspiring group of women you are! I am so proud to keep company with you. Thank you for sharing your words with us this week.

As I study more about writing, I am struck by how closely acting and writing are as creative forces. My background is in theatre and I have spent most of my life either on stage or wishing I was on stage. Birthing a character is similar to birthing a story which is similar to giving birth. How's that for a circular comparison?

There's this very simple acting theory, one that folks pay big buck to learn. It was first introduced by a grand ol' gem of a guy named Constantine Stanislavski -- you can call him the grandfather of modern acting theory. Or Connie, whichever you prefer. The "Magic If" theory maintains all you need to do to create a character is place yourself into the characters circumstance and respond as you would respond given those circumstances. For instance, if I were lost and if I discovered a house in the woods, how might I approach the door? If no one answered and I discovered the door was unlocked, how would I react upon entering the house and finding three bowls of piping hot porridge ready for dinner? You get the idea. Obviously, it can get far more complex than that simple example but the core principle remains: as writers and as actors, we must simply be our true selves when confronted with life's bag of tricks.

This week we are going to focus on the short assignment. I'm going to steal a bit from Anne Lamott, but I don't think she'd mind too much. She seems like the kind of gal who wants others to do well and feel good about writing, plus she readily admits to stealing stuff from other writers. There is nothing new under the sun and just as good theatre breeds good theatre, so the same goes with writing.