How do you become a better writer? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 8 Old 06-05-2006, 06:42 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I've just bought two journals, The Writer and Writer's Digest, and I'm devouring them. I'm also reading in stop-start fashion The Art of Profiling by Dan Korem - just because it interests me to analyse people and their ways more closely - useful skills for a writer I think.

I have been writing simple parenting articles and political, newsy articles for a few years now. I don't think I'm a particularly good writer yet and I don't think I'm improving anymore. With four kids, I'm finding it hard to focus.

But those journals inspire me to think bigger and to hone my skills more. I want to tackle a bigger project and hopefully publish it. Carpe Diem!!

So what do *you* read/study/do in pursuit of bettering your writing? Share your tactics and maybe we can all benefit.
#2 of 8 Old 06-05-2006, 06:44 PM

Read.
Write.
Edit.
Re-Read.
Keep a note pad with you and do 60% of your writing on paper so that what you type in is the cream of the crop.
Do not try to copy ayone elses style or flow, let the words fit right for you and your style of writing.
#3 of 8 Old 06-06-2006, 08:04 PM

Hi Jodie,
I write articles for money too and was worried about my writing not improving. I'm doing a variety of things. Because some of my assignments become chores after they are assigned (everything is so exciting in the pitching stage!) I make sure I write just for the love of it once a week or so - for me my love is personal essays.

I also belong to two professional writer's groups and find these so inspirational. I work on goals and the craft of writing through these.

I also try to read more. I am trying to commit one morning a week to reading articles and trying to understand what I love about them or how I could write them better.
cheers,
Diane
#4 of 8 Old 06-07-2006, 11:18 AM - Thread Starter